Botox at 26

18010797_1328570553893157_1703307248551352980_n

Botox at 26, I know how it sounds… There is a stigma that comes with having botox at a young age, everyone thinks you will end up looking fake, old, plastic – the list goes on. In this day and age it is becoming more popular as a quick fix to a small problem and if you can afford it, why not? It’s not a permanent fix, and it does wear off over time, so no permanent damage. It used to be a procedure that only celebrities had done, but now it’s accessibly to everyone, due to the popularity. I am an advocate for doing what you want as long as it makes you happy – so for me – botox… why not?

Botox is a prescription medicine that is injected into muscles and used to temporarily improve the look of both moderate to severe crow’s feet lines and frown lines.

Top tips 

1) Do your research – I must stress the importance of doing your research, I have read a couple of articles about ‘how anyone can give botox injections now‘ so you need to read lots of reviews and read the practitioners qualifications – I personally would feel more confident with a plastic surgeon or dermatologist doing my botox as I would feel more confident that they will know my skin.

2) Book a consultation – The consultations are free, therefore if you change your mind or don’t like ‘the feel’ of the place, then you can say no! It is your body and your choice – you are allowed to change your mind. this also gives you the opportunity to visit a couple of places over a period of time, so that you can really think about it.

3) Can you afford it? – It is expensive and will need to be redone every 3 to 6 months! Before you start down the road of Botox you need to decide if you can afford it long term – or do you need to look into alternative methods for smoothing out your wrinkles.

My experience

I was really unhappy with three deep lines on my forehead – make-up would sit in the creases and make it look worse. Overtime I saw a picture of my face I couldn’t get past the lines! It is all I noticed.

After reading up on botox and watching plenty of youtube videos I decided to take the next step and I booked a consultation. I had researched and read plenty of reviews beforehand. We discussed the look I wanted to achieve and he talked me through

I had six small injections across the forehead and had the minimal amount – as it was my first time and he wanted to check how my skin would take it, as if too much is injected it can cause drooping of the eyebrows, not a look I wanted.

After two weeks I started to see the effects. My forehead smoothed out and I lost the movement in my forehead – which was a weird sensation. It almost felt like I had someone pressing on my forehead all the time, which resulted in me trying to frown to release the pressure (attractive I know)

After a couple of weeks I went back for a follow up, at this point they can decide if you need more injected and how it has gone. The practitioner decided mine looked good and what I wanted had been achieved.

Pros

  • The lines are smoothed out and the look is achieved
  • It is quick
  • It is painless
  • You can carry on with your day after as no major effects

Cons

  • Price – it is expensive
  • It doesn’t last long/ which could be a pro if you ended up not liking it
  • Can cause bruising
  • Unable to move forehead properly

18011168_1328570557226490_9110833644306069661_n

Before Botox ^^

18010384_1328570540559825_752170923696140020_n

This is How my forehead looks now 4 months after Botox. As you can see the lines are starting to reappear, however not as deep.

The effects from Botox will last three to six months. As muscle action gradually returns, the lines and wrinkles begin to reappear and need to be treated again. The lines and wrinkles often appear less severe with time because the muscles are shrinking.

Would I have botox again?

I think I most likely will have botox again – If I find the pressure uncomfortable it might possibly be the last time –  as much as I prefer how I look with a smooth forehead I definitely would pick comfort over beauty every time!

Disclaimer – these are all my opinions and experiences, I don’t think anyone needs Botox – It is completely up to the individual

Leave a Reply

