Tattoos – placement importance

Hey guys, more information about my tattoos – enjoy!

Placement

Turning 23 I decided I wanted a meaningful tattoo on my thigh. After a few too many bottles of wine, myself and my sister decided to get our family crest. Family are my everything and I love me heritage and family history, so this for me was perfect.

We travelled down sound all excited to get out new tattoos (unbeknown to me my sister was excited as she was dating the tattoo artists son – hence her eagerness for a new tattoo) It was worth the long drive down south and awkwardly being third wheel as I loved it and it soon became my favourite tattoo. That is until I got home and looked at it properly in the mirror… don’t get me wrong it was beautiful, exactly what I wanted, but the way it was placed on my upper thigh reminded me of a penis! A PENIS! and once that though was in my head I couldn’t get it out again. If I wore shorts you could see the belt buckle peaking out and it was embarrassing.

Lesson learn! Remember placement is very important. When the tattoo artist puts the stencil on, look at it in the mirror from all angles and ask a few friends. Make sure you are 100% happy.

Luckily, as mentioned before the guy that did my tattoo was now my sisters boyfriends dad. So he added some thistles and roses around my tattoo a few months later that has made the tattoo into a beautiful piece and again has become my most loved tattoo.

Meaning

So I decided I wanted elephants tattooed on my foot due to be obsession with elephants. I have them everywhere in my room – some might call it a shrine. Does the tattoo have a huge significance in my life? No. Do I have an amazing life changing story to go with the tattoo? No. And to be honest you don’t have to. If you want to get a tattoo because you like it, do it! It’s your body and you don’t have to explain yourself to anyone!

I agree that you should think about it – It will be on your body permanently, but if you decide to get a cat on your foot, because your cat is your best friend DO IT!

My last tattoo is coordinates on my arm of a very special place. I wanted it on the left side of my body near my heart. This place was a second home to me growing up and it will always have a special place in my heart.

On reflection I might have had it somewhere else on my body, as all through summer it’s on show and I have people asking me questions about it all the time. It is personal and it’s always strangers that question me. I don’t regret it though and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Pain rating

Pain rating is hard as everyone feels pain differently. I would say I have a pretty high pain tolerance. I know for sure the foot hurts, coverups are painful and have been told ribs in also sore. But if you want a tattoo that much you will deal with the pain.

So if you read my previous blog ‘To tattoo or not to tattoo… that is the question’ I would have talked you through my first three tattoos (as seen below)

  1. 2/10 – quick and painless
  2. 4/10 – hurt around the ankle
  3. 10/10 – this cover up killed, i could just about handle it

4) 2/10 top go the thigh is pretty painless                                                                                                  5) 2/10 again not too painful                                                                                                                        6) 7/10 inner foot really hurts, luckily it was quick                                                                             7) 5/10 uncomfortable on inner arm but also pretty quick

 

Any questions please leave a comment

Elma

xxx

Leave a Reply

